My first encounter with books with the Dalai Lama’s teachings was during a very rough time in my life and my brother gave me a Dalai Lams book. At that time, I was too caught up with myself to completely absorb and comprehend the teachings however, these past few months I’ve been coming across various books containing the teachings and thoughts of the Dalai Lama and I’m starting to develop a more thorough appreciation of them perhaps because I’m in a better frame of mind to do so and I believe that no matter one’s religious beliefs, the Dalai Lama’s books are relevant and may be appreciated from a psychological, philosophical, and educational perspective.

His teachings are relevant to all human beings and it would be great if more people have access to his teachings in their native languages.

The beauty of the Buddha’s teachings is that it teaches about life and logically discusses being able to overcome one’s own negative tendencies. It is a pity that simply because Buddhism is considered a religion aside from being a philosophy that many people think that Buddha is a god and feel that they would be betraying their own religion by being open to his teachings.

It would be great of more people appreciated that the Buddha is was a great human teacher during his mortal existence and does not claim to be a god (or God) in any way, shape, or form. He is venerated for his wisdom and his teachings and rightfully so.

I will be reviewing some of the notable Dalai Lama books I’ve read soon. I warmly urge you to browse through the wide selection of his books and teachings and enjoy his insight, humor, and perspective.

(c) Niconica 2013

