There are naturally positive people in the world but I’m not one of them perhaps because I’ve had my fair share of unpleasant experiences so I’m at a loss when it comes to how people can be so genuinely lighthearted and happy. I often wonder if they are just putting up a front because I don’t seem to see anything to be cheery about.

However, my pessimism, however warranted, is not accurate in this regard because there are people who are not as damaged and instead of envying them, it occurs to me that I should learn from them.

Granted, positivity is not my default state and I can confirm that when I watch each thought and feeling which comes up in my mind. Instead of acting on these bad memories and negative musings and contaminating others with the black cloud, I can attempt to take several deep breaths and let these thoughts pass without verbalizing them or allowing them to carry me away.

It’s not going to be easy because it appears that my mind had been conditioned through experiences to think the very worst but perhaps I can attempt to conquer this tendency one thought at a time. It’s not going to be perfect and there might be moments I might succumb to my natural programming but I believe that the pay off for keeping things positive will be better in the long run.

Wish me luck!

(c) Niconica 2013

