I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started watching Season 1 of Downton Abbey. Being an avid Jane Austen fan, I wasn’t disappointed with the complexity and intricacy of the plot.  Jane Austen’s televised novels have a more female bent to it and Downton Abbey differs in the sense that it encompasses the perspective of both genders.

It’s an interesting family period drama created by Julian Fellowes and it is indeed impressive.  I would have wishes that there would have been more episodes to season 1 than the 7 I’ve seen. I felt completely drawn into the challenges and successes of the Grantham family as they navigate rapidly changing times.

Season 1 kicks off with the news of the sinking of the Titanic and gradually creeps towards World War I. We anticipate the whirls of fortune as we witness the unfolding of this epic family saga.

In a word: Majestic.

(c) Niconica 2011*

*does not apply to image/s

