I’m not a make-up expert nor a make-up artist.  I approach make-up in a very simple and straightforward manner: whatever works with minimal hassle (and skill) is great… which is why when I came upon Shu Uemura‘s UV Underbase SPF 30 PA+++ I was thrilled.

I was rather baffled as to what a underbase was but found out that it’s an awesome make-up primer which smooths the “canvas” so to speak before we put in the base paints (read as: foundation).

I was pleased to find out that it can also stand on its own for oil control and provide a sheer cover to even out the skin tone… so it’s definitely good news for people who just want a more even skin tone without needing to further apply make-up.  Although in this case, patting powder on after the underbase would be an option.

For someone like me who has rudimentary make-up skills, this was a blessing.  Putting on the underbase before applying the foundation works wonders; this way less effort and less layers of foundation would be required.

I also found out that it happens to be available in two tones: pink for people with pinker or lighter skin tone, and beige for people with tan complexion.

It must be said that even if it specifies a SPF30 sun protection – I wouldn’t recommend foregoing additional or actual sunscreen or sunblock.

Upon further research I found that Mr. Shu Uemura created this underbase as “a make-up as light and as transparent as the air.”  And, it is so.

(c) Niconica 2011*

*The copyright applies to the text of the blog post and not the image.

*This is not a paid review

