It has to be said that I’m an avid fan of the Star Trek Voyager TV series.  The Jimbalian Fudge Cake which Neelix baked for Kes for her birthday is a particular shade of blue – and it inspired me to create something along those lines.  In mixing the blue frosting, I kept in mind that I wanted something which looked unusual, convincingly space age, and synthetic, grounded by a grayish tinge – reminiscent of cement.

I was gladly able to indulge in my fascination for blue roses with the first cake.  For the cake base, I specifically mixed up a batch of pinkish flesh toned icing to compliment the cascading blue roses and sampaguitas (Philippine Jasmine).

The next mini cake is more faithful to Neelix’s blue Jimbalian fudge cake – with a blue base.  I’ve chosen to top it with graceful ivory colored roses and sampaguitas (Philippine Jasmine).

It can be said that the inspiration for these cakes come from… another galaxy… or if my pun can be further indulged… they come from… out of the delectable blue.

(c) Niconica 2010

