This is more than a book review, it is a blog post in response to the http://dailypost.wordpress.com and Plinky prompt “Name a book that changed your life.” M Scott Peck‘s “The Road Less Travelled” came to mind.

It is a must-read for everyone who is trying to understand and deal with life and all the myriad difficulties which comes with it. It was first published in 1978 and already has a 25th anniversary edition in print, which goes to show that it has withstood the test of time.

If it were up to me, I would propose for this book to be mandatory reading for junior and senior students in high school.  A course devoted to it would benefit college students in their psychosocial and spiritual development and perhaps an adult introductory or refresher course could also be introduced based on the book.

This books begins acknowledging the truth that, “Life is difficult.” and then proceeds to provide us with a much-needed perspective on life and love.  It is a book which has gotten me through the more trying periods of my life and which definitely permanently deserves a place in my bookshelf.

I highly recommend it.

(c) Niconica 2011*

*does not apply to image/s

