I did not see this version of “The Adjustment Bureau poster.  I saw a poster that looks more like this one:

Now, with this second movie poster – tell me it doesn’t give one the thoughts, “Oh, it’s another Matt Damon suspense thriller …”  a la The Bourne Identity.” It was because of the jump to this conclusion that I was more that a little hesitant to watch the movie, but it just so happened that I had such a trying week that I badly needed to decompress via watching a movie–any movie–and “The Adjustment Bureau” seemed to be the more acceptable option and boy was I glad I watched it.

Now in saying all this, I believe that if I had come upon the black and white poster with Matt Damon and Emily Blunt, I would have been more compelled to watch it… Furthermore, I feel that the first poster does the plot more justice than the “running around” poster which is far too mainstream.

I quickly scanned the reviews before watching it and have seen it categorized as a science fiction love story and I do agree that it could fall into that category. I would probably add in the world surreal into the description.  A lot of doorways abruptly leading to unexpected places possesses a very surreal quality to me. However, these labels are just the trappings, and when it comes down to content, it is a lovely discourse and an interesting take on three quintessential dilemmas:

Romance vs. Career

Happiness vs. Success

Fate vs. Free Will

Need I say more?

Enjoy!

(c) Niconica 2011*

*does not apply to image/s

