We have now come to the end of an era… as part 1 of Book 7 of the famous Harry Potter series is shown on the big screen.  I had rather thought that it would have a serious action/horror feel about it when I watched it so I found myself pulled in both ways before watching it.  I wanted to watch it because I am a professed Harry Potter fan but at the same time, I dreaded watching it because I knew, from reading the books, that the violence,  casualties and losses were about to mount up and I wasn’t sure whether my nerves could take it all being portrayed on the big screen in a grandiose manner.  I am glad that I was mistaken.

The setting was stark and sombre but without an exaggerated action feel.  One does not feel as though one has been catapulted into a series of pure action sequences, but instead, one finds oneself on a fast-paced subtly sentimental journey in this coming-of-age  film.  The loss of their innocence as they come face to face with very real dangers and consequences signifies a step further into adulthood as they leave child’s play behind.  Decisions must be made in the face of increasing pressure, as the stakes soar higher and higher.

I would have preferred that the movie not have been divided into two parts.  The story would have been more cohesive and been appreciated better in one go, instead of cutting it off just when things were getting good.  I recognize the financial advantages for the producers in splitting it into two  though – as well as the notion of making a good thing last as long as it can, before it inevitably ends. However, as an avid fan, it just feels more disjointed to be watching Part 2 next year – jumping in right in the middle… when the impact of the hefty volume of Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows would have been felt more strongly if it had been covered in one go.

Aside from this, it was, all in all, an enjoyable film – poignant but not melodramatic, haunting but not grisly, serious but not severe, and definitely not devoid of some much-needed key moments of humor – altogether fitting for the beginning of the end.

(c) Niconica 2010

